Equalizer using Arduino Due

Equalizer using Arduino Due

Postby Vega » Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:42 am

Hello,

I'm looking to create a multiple-band EQ using the codec shield and an arduino due. I will use 16 bit faders as the input for the EQ values, and I'm wondering if anyone knows about the code for making an EQ. I'm an absolute beginner at this, any help will be much appreciated. Thank you :)
Vega

Re: Equalizer using Arduino Due

Postby guest » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:31 am

the due uses a completely different processor than the uno or duemilanove, which is what the codec shield was designed for. as a result, the codec shield will not work with the due at this time.
Site Admin

Postby Vega » Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:25 pm

okay, so which arduino should i use out of the uno or duemilanove? and then how would i go about writing the code for an eq?
Vega

Postby guest » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:51 pm

the leaflabs maple would probably be the best thing to use, as the uno or duemilanove can only do about a dozen multiplies per sample at 44ksps. that means only a second order filter per bandpass. i would reccomend an iir filter, as it requires fewer multiplies to accomplish the same task. there are discussions of it here:

http://www.mikroe.com/chapters/view/73/ ... r-filters/

i have only done a few simple filters.

is this something you want to control via usb? are there other inputs you want to take in? if all you need is a 6 band eq, an analog circut will do a better job.
Site Admin

Postby rup » Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:18 am

Hi !

I am currently trying to upgrade the library of the codec shield to the arduino due. I think it is much convenient to work with the due than with the mapple, but maybe a question of taste...

I worked on an equalizer (based on this : http://www.musicdsp.org/files/Audio-EQ-Cookbook.txt) on the due, and it works with integrated adc/dac, but I needed a better input and output (12bits is not enough), that's why I want to modify the library.